Posted by: Dave | June 8, 2008

Toronto’s Luminato fest hosts Silent Dance Party

From the current version of Luminato’s main page:

SILENT DANCE PARTY

Tonight at Midnight in Yonge-Dundas Square!

Bring your favorite MP3 player. Arrive in Yonge-Dundas Square at midnight sharp for the countdown and press play! Over 200 individually controlled LED lights hung over Yonge-Dundas Square will interact with the music, transforming the space into a silent dance party like never before. Right-click here to download the set.

I wish I could be there to see it – and/or participate! At first I was going to label this an example of hypermediacy, until I remembered Jenkins’ definition of media as the raw material, such as music, and not the device(s) used to produce it. Yet, perhaps we could consider this a remediation of the dance party. Right now the idea of a silent dance party with everyone plugged in to their iPods seems pretty gimmicky, but wouldn’t it be interesting if this manner of partying were to take off? I mean, it has its advantages: you set your own volume, and there’s a lot smaller chance of making your neighbours want to kill you. And I don’t think I need to argue that more ability to customize is a growing trend in other media, do I?

For my own Luminato experience, several of my friends and I went to check out the Count Basie orchestra playing for free at Dundas Square on Friday night. Excellent events all around from the creative arts festival this year.

Leave a Reply

Categories

